Virtuoso (RDF-store) underlying source code for caching [techniques] and query processing

I am a computer science research student who is interested in DBMS with a specific focus on RDF-stores. I’ve recently used Virtuoso (built from GitHub as a columnar triple-store) to run some SPARQL queries against an RDF dump in my local machine. Thanks for providing such a fantastic DBMS. In this regard, I have some questions:

1. How SPARQL queries are executed using Virtuoso? It means does Virtuoso columnar translate SPARQL to SQL (e.g., similar to this paper’s explanation: http://ceur-ws.org/Vol-301/Paper_5_Erling.pdf) and then run SQL against the underlying relational DBMS or not? (this link is broken: “How Virtuoso uses Relational Technology in its RDF Triple Store and SPARQL implementation” http://vos.openlinksw.com/owiki/wiki/VOS/VOSRDFWP)

2. Which part of the source code is related to the implementation of the caching techniques? Does Virtuoso cache the query results as well?

3. Apache Jena contains a way to extract SPARQL syntax called SSE (link: https://jena.apache.org/documentation/notes/sse.html). Did you implement something like SSE for VIrtuoso in C/C++? If yes, which part of the code contains that?

I hope a few words from this community as answers of these questions help me to learn more about the excellency of Virtuoso.

Thanks very much for taking time to read this post.

Hello Pouya,

1 . Yes, Virtuoso first translates SPARQL to SQL and then executes the SQL. If you connect via isql you can read the intermediate SQL by writing

set blobs on;
select sparql_to_sql_text ('text_of_your_sparql_query_here') as x long varchar;

(the text of sparql query should not contain leading SPARQL keyword and if it contains single quotes then they should be repeated twice, like inside any other SQL string constant)

The query execution plan and SPARQL to SQL text can also be obtained as detailed here.

If you connect via SPARQL web service endpoint then you can mark the