qq:link         ?link; 
                               qq:catAttName   ?catAttName; 
                               qq:setting      ?setting; 
                               qq:flag         ?flag;
                               qq:unit         ?caUnit.

}  
                   }

LIMIT 20

This query is so slow, took 10 seconds for the result, the only difference is the ?catId is replaced with literal value 1. I thought this should be faster because it’s more specific.

select *
                 WHERE {

graph <http://localhost:8890/graph> {

?catAtt qq:catId      1;
                               qq:caDataType ?caDataType;
                               qq:showInView   ?showInview;
                               qq:valFormat    ?valFormatKey;
                               qq:multiple     ?multiple; 
                               qq:position     ?position; 

}  
                   }

LIMIT 20

Why is it so? I am still new to SPARQL and triplestore, seems like I have to do some indexing on the object?

I have tried creating the GOPS index with, I don’t understand about the Partition part, is using O correct? What does that partition mean? Creating this index has improved the execution for the second query to 4 seconds, but still too slow for a DBMS.

CREATE COLUMN INDEX RDF_QUAD_GOPS
  ON RDF_QUAD (G, O, P, S)
  PARTITION (O VARCHAR (-1, 0hexffff));

Btw, does Virtuoso store triplets in the regular RDBMS table? in the table DB.DBA.RDF_QUAD? So virtuoso does not have a native storage of graph? Or what I don’t understand?

Thanks

What is the specific version and gitid of the Virtuoso 7 server being used? This can be obtained from the output of running the command ./virtuoso-t -? from the bin directory of your Virtuoso installation?