Help needed with ODBC connectivity on Mac - Informix database

Hello, we are having basic issues getting the Mac version 7 ODBC driver to connect to our single database. We are running Mac OS Mojave 10.14.2, are using Informix Database Engine v 11 and are accessing data via Excel - running on Office 365 version of Excel (64 bit) All works fine from Windows based Excel, need to get a few Macs connected. I am an Apple Consultant (But Microsoft Certified too) helping my client with this, so I don’t have direct access to the servers or Macs involved. Just wanted to mention that. Will someone please verify which exact Java version to install and where to get it? Apple does not have a Java 8 installer for Mac OS, so I would assume to grab it from Oracle website. Does 8u202 work or should I use 8u201? I will post the exact error we are getting when the client sends it to me. It leads us to believe that the driver is not even loaded when we try to test connectivity. So, if I have to uninstall and reinstall after installing Java, perhaps some review on that part for now would be appreciated so I can get this implemented properly. I have to walk an onsite admin through every step. He knows the ODBC connection settings but just need help with perhaps the advanced settings. Thanks for your help!!

Hello –

As I noted in previous email –

Tying this into the above…

1. Assuming you are indeed working with Express Edition, you are correct that the driver is not loading before the error message is delivered. That is because it depends on loading Java, which is apparently not available.

2. You need not uninstall the Express Edition ODBC driver before installing or upgrading to Java 8; just re-install the ODBC driver after installing Java 8.